Freshman Rep. Jeff Van DrewJeff Van DrewDemocrat votes 'no' on Speaker before reversing course The 15 Democrats who voted against Pelosi House elects Pelosi to second Speakership MORE's (D-N.J.) first vote for Speaker was changed to "present" after the chair ruled he couldn't vote "no" on the floor on Thursday.

Van Drew was one of the 15 Democrats who opted not to support Speaker Nancy PelosiNancy Patricia D'Alesandro PelosiOvernight Defense: Trump unveils new missile defense plan | Dems express alarm | Shutdown hits Day 27 | Trump cancels Pelosi foreign trip | Senators offer bill to prevent NATO withdrawal McConnell blocks bill to reopen most of government Overnight Health Care: Thousands more migrant children may have been separated | Senate rejects bill to permanently ban federal funds for abortion | Women's March to lobby for 'Medicare for All' MORE (D-Calif.) for the most powerful position in the House.

While most members traditionally vote for a person, Van Drew took an unprecedented route, shouting "no" during the roll call vote.

The New Jersey Democrat had vowed to buck his party and vote against Pelosi during his House campaign.

After making a number of deals with potential detractors, Pelosi ultimately secured the Speaker's gavel, bringing in 220 votes from within her caucus.

The California Democrat made history, becoming the first woman to serve as Speaker of the House twice.